top of page

The content on Breitflyte Airline News Network will always be free and won’t require a subscription. is a participant in several affiliate advertising programs designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to affiliated sites.  We may earn a commission if you click on or make a purchase through one of our links.  Thank you for supporting our affiliate advertisers. 

  • Joe Breitfeller

Austrian Airlines Expands Summer 2020 Schedule With the Addition of 15 Destinations

Austrian Airlines announced on Friday that due to the expiration of the Austrian Federal Government’s landing bans for flights from certain countries, the carrier will add 15 routes between July 13, and August 1st, 2020.

Austrian Airlines Boeing 777-200ER - Courtesy Austrian Airlines

On Friday (July 31, 2020), Austrian Airlines announced an expansion of their summer 2020 flight schedule with the addition of 15 destinations. As of today, the Austrian Federal Government’s landing ban for flights from Albania, Northern Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, Great Britain, Sweden and Ukraine have expired, allowing the carrier to reintroduce route destinations. Due to local entry regulations, Austrian Airlines has temporarily removed flights to Shanghai and Tel Aviv for August. From today (July 31, 2020), Austrian Airlines has resumed service to Bucharest, Chicago, Pristina and Sarajevo, while flights to Belgrade, Cairo, Kyiv, London, Podgorica, Sibiu, Skopje, Sofia, Stockholm, Tirana and Varna will restart on Saturday, August 1, 2020. In Friday’s announcement, Austrian Airlines’ Chief Commercial Officer, Andreas Otto said,

“We welcome the solution of the Austrian Federal Government, which combines the highest requirements for health protection and the freedom of travel. We now intend to quickly expand our route network and re-establish our hub at Vienna Airport to provide our customers with a wide range of connecting flights in a timely manner.

At this time, no COVID-19 (PCR test) or quarantine measures are required for passengers from Andorra, Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Great Britain, Ireland, Iceland, Italy Croatia, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, San Merino, Switzerland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, the Czech Republic, Hungary, the Vatican or Cyprus. Additionally, transfer passengers will not require a PCR test.

Austrian Airlines Adds 15 Destinations to Summer 2020 Schedule - Courtesy Austrian Airlines

Austrian, Swiss and EU/EEA citizens, as well as persons residing in Austria who arrive from a high risk area must carry a health certificate (in German or English) with a negative PCR test taken within the past 72 hours. If testing was not possible prior to departure, travelers will be required to take a PCR test within 48 hours of arrival at their own expense, and must self-quarantine until such time a negative result is available. The list of high-risk areas currently includes: Albania, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Egypt, Ecuador, India, Indonesia, Iran, Kosovo, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Nigeria, Northern Macedonia, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Sweden, Senegal, Serbia, South Africa, Turkey, Ukraine, USA and Hubei Province in China.

Third-country nationals are effectively banned unless they enter from a Schengen area and can present a negative PCR test taken within the last 72 hours. Upon entry, third-country travelers will be required to self-quarantine at their own expense for ten days and must present a confirmation of accommodation. Persons in a partnership with a person living in Austria may be exempt from these requirements, providing they can provide the appropriate proof.

Source: Austrian Airlines